I Must Care for their Souls…

15 Jun

2 Billion Unreached.”

40 Percent of the world have never heard the name of Jesus…Let us turn to the passage of the great Commission…

Unmoved. Uncaring. It was I. Sitting thru the talk on missions with a blank slate stare. Who cares about numbers. Who cares about percentages, graphs and equations of the world’s lost. Not I.

Perhaps that is the most honest and heathen thing I have ever said.

But as I sat and listened I felt like weeping. I wanted to jump up and knock the speaker over (Oh, for a life that is not held back by the expectations of man) and give the rest of the talk on this subject near to my heart.  No one cares what a speaker has to say if everyone can tell that the speaker has no care for it either. I wanted to scream to the whole student body with gut-wretching sobs, personal stories of how God has advanced the Kingdom through Honeybrook, through Asia, through me. I wanted to weep in front of them, yell in front of them, pound the pulpit for the sake of the Gospel in front of them! I wanted them to know that missions isn’t just about the two billion unreached. I don’t care about numbers. They don’t care about numbers. Who cares for numbers. Perhaps We should. Perhaps I should.

I wanted them to know missions is about dear thirteen year old Rebecca from Honeybrook, who asks questions like a 25 year old, but who cries to me of her overwhelming pain as her family falls apart to the cruel slavery of drugs and alcohol.

That missions is about my faithful friend and fellow co-worker at McDonalds, who has a deep compassion for people, but has a heart that is torn to shreds through her parents separation, her brother’s unfair imprisonment and her shambles of a life.

That missions is about Amy, who screams her hate for us on an evening of choir, but only because everything and everyone in her life has let her down already, and she’s scared to believe we won’t do the same.

That missions is about sitting of the street sidewalk in Phnom Penh, and being surrounded by twenty dirty precious children who hang onto every word you say.

That missions if about dear old wrinkled Charlotte Hopkins from New Holland, and sitting at her table for two hours to cry with her, laugh with her, and be her only friend, Who cares that we are Separated in age by sixty years.

That missions if about the passion of Jesus Christ. The passion For Jesus Christ. And As I sit and listen. I realize. That I will never have passion, or care for the two-billion unreached, until I have compassion for the lonely neighbor lady, or the torn apart child’s heart sitting in the church bench beside me, or the plastic smile of the God-hater at work, or the dark-skinned peddlers in Phnom Penh, or the lady walking with a limp through the mall, or the precious faces of the Honeybrook children who are far too unaware of the war waging over their souls.

Jesus My Christ! Drive me to your precious heart. I am resolved to become more akin to your heart that before! Intimately may I love you, and Deeply may I walk beside You.

I must care about the souls of the billions because I care about You. I endeavor to care for the one. I endeavor to care for the billions. God be my witness.

[Claudia]

From A Journal Entry


10 Responses to “I Must Care for their Souls…”

  1. David June 15, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    thanks for the updates claw and erv! they are very inspiring! keep up the good work! miss you…

    David.

  2. Carla Barkman June 15, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Dear- the beauty of your heart shines through very clearly! Your heart for people is so so beautiful! I’m praying this trip will show you more of the heart of our Father! Love ya cousin dear!

  3. Dawn Stoltzfus June 15, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Dear Claud,

    I weep, as I read and I pray…….. “Lord Jesus, may her fire never die!! Empower her with the vision you have given her, empower me with the vision you have given me!! This is really the Father’s heart to the nations, to the one……to love well”.

    I do not want to waste my days, thanks for sharing, thanks for your vulnerability! Today I bless you with the energy, the courage to follow hard after Him, and the voice to speak things that will continually move me out of my comfort zone!

    Love-
    Dawn

  4. Danielle June 15, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    That was beautiful and inspiring! and not only that but motivating to.. God bless you for your open-ness. Keep up the good work.

  5. Alicia Esh June 15, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    oh claw. this is so true. Your words come from your heart.
    (and I love the pic of you and Hannah(?)
    Don’t give up!

  6. Chelsea Anne June 15, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    A-MEN! My heart echoes the cry found in this post. Thank you, Claudia.

  7. Abby June 15, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I love your heart. You challenge me.
    I love you.

  8. Dani June 16, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    So well said…..so well said…..missions is about taking your crippled, depressed friend to her doctor’s appointment and trying to love her as much as she loves you……….but i’m her only friend, and i have so many other friends…….

    missed you tonight as i was ready to close down beth’s computer and i saw your picture on her background….so i checked the blog yet quickly……..

    may we love as Christ loves! praying for you!

    -dani

  9. clarita June 17, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    So so powerful, and so true…. It causes me to reevaluate my world, and the way I live my life. Not on a mission field, per se, but yes, on a mission field. Because the whole world is one big mission field, reached by one person at a time.

    I am so loving your gift of writing…. and hearing your passion. xoxo

  10. father June 17, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    to live with passion is to live well!

Leave a Reply

