Shampoo, Suds and Water Carriers

21 Jun

They come running, our white van bouncing toward them as they wave and jump up and down. Dozens of them wait at the garage door. We walk in among them, hugging waist-high heads and touching little cheeks in greeting. How can these children be so precious already?

We wash countless heads, pouring cold water over scalps and massaging around sores and turning tangles into clean, fresh braids. I sit with my fingers twirled in lice-ridden hair, feet sloshing in sudsy water, smiling like my heart can’t contain itself. Because it can’t. I’m so utterly happy in those moments. Who doesn’t melt when a little espresso-eyed girl lays her head at your knees, plugs her ears to keep out the water, and smiles up at you? This child, one of the many fainting from hunger at the top of every street. God hunger. Truth hunger. Life hunger. As my fingers rub the shampoo deep, I pray for her. I who have this God, this truth, this life. I who can’t speak more than five words in her language. How can I not pray? I ask for her heart to be washed clean, for it to hold desire for Jesus, for her to be that water carrier in a slum-world of broken cisterns. She’s just a little child, yes, but didn’t He say a little child would lead them? These people can’t afford much, but didn’t He offer this thirst-quenching water free?

I think Tuesdays are going to be my favorite days.

[Ervina]

8 Responses to “Shampoo, Suds and Water Carriers”

  1. tabetha super June 21, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I can’t wait until I can join you when I am called to use my medical degree overseas. I’ll be praying for you and all the espresso-eyed children of Cambodia. I love you Ervina and miss you terribly.
    Tabetha

  2. clarita June 21, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    How precious! I’m sure these little children will forever remember the day the beautiful blonde-haired, green-eyed girl smiled down at them… and loved them.

  3. annamary June 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    your entries bring tears to my eyes!! praying the Father will overflow your hearts with each and every day. xoxo

  4. Kenny June 22, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    I repeat what Clarita said. I gotta say its pretty fun to see you guys in actual pictures ….then I don’t have to make up pictures in my mind. Oh and I hope your circulation is doing ok there on your arm. 🙂

  5. Esta June 22, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    I loved this.

  6. Maria Mullet June 25, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    I love reading your blog! I am so excited, inspired, and compelled by the vision God has placed in your hearts and how He has opened doors for you to actively be His hands and feet in the uttermost. And…you are both such great writers! You are inspiring the masses through the blogosphere!

  7. Dawn Stoltzfus July 24, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    I read and weep. Thanks for bringing fresh perspective to my life today!!!

  8. Shelly July 29, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Hey, beautiful ladies! Just happened upon your blog today and am soaking in it whenever a get a free moment. I just love to be able to see into Cambodia through your eyes (and remember back when trips like this were still possible for me!!) So amazing that you get to wash and comb their hair. What a fun, love-giving, caring act . . . and something I’m sure they won’t forget!! Can’t wait to read more! Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

